top of page

Thankful - Pastor's Pen for 14th November 2021

Roadside garden - Belmont

I was a bit lacking in direction with my prayer time this morning (Thursday). The old-school devotional I often use was a bit lacking in inspiration, sometimes the archaic language misses the mark and seems obscure. As I made a bee-line for the kitchen to get my second cup of coffee for the day, the word thanksgiving popped into my head, so I stuck with that for a while, giving thanks in prayer for many things, some of which have been highlighted by the season we are stuck in, the time of Covid restrictions.


I'm always thankful when my son gets up and gets himself to work without any input from me. It's a simple thing, but all that's needed is a cheery goodbye and maybe a hug, no grumpy old man speech about the need to care for one's employment and prospects. No one listens anyway. This departure often coincides with my second coffee, so there is an efficient movement to the kitchen and hallway for my caffeine fueled cheeriness.


I'm thankful for the daily discipline of exercise. In my case it is akin to a spiritual practice, a vital part of my otherwise sedentary vocation. I'm also thankful for the general lack of injuries and ailments that would prevent such activity, at least for the time being.


On the above adventures, I often see things that inspire or delight, a fat wood-pigeon, a flurry of Tui, or a splendid rose (see above). Sometimes a particular light on the Hauraki Gulf is enough to send me to the place of wonder and thankfulness. God's world is good and beautiful, even with do much human intervention.


Like all of you, I can't wait till we're a bit further through this version of Covid lockdown. Hopefully we'll pop out the other end before long. In the meantime, I hope you do find reasons for thankfulness in the midst of it all. Maybe read Psalm 111, which begins with thanksgiving.

45 views0 comments
bottom of page