top of page

Take a break - Pastor's Pen for 26th Nov 2023

Lately, when I do a long run on my day off from Forrest Hill to Devonport and back, I stop somewhere in Devonport for a long black coffee. Sometimes the thought of running all the way back home again is too much without a little caffeine shot. Anyway, it's good to have a break and a moment to take stock along the way.


After the upheaval of moving my parents to managed care, then taking my old youth group mate's funeral on Monday, it was good to go to the Bill Bailey comedy show on Wednesday night. His brand of intelligent yet chaotic comedy was a perfect balance to the more serious tasks of the previous week or so. I think I relate because he grew up in Keynsham not far from Bristol where I was born. Gotta love British humour.


Proverbially we say; 'a change is as good as a rest' and there's a lot of truth in that. But let's not minimise the need for real rest in our busy lives. Actually, it's more about finding balance. I think Jesus said it perfectly;

‘Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.’ (Matt 11: 28-30)


No one is exempt from carrying a yoke of ministry or work, but if we deliberately walk close to Jesus it will seem appropriate and life-giving, and with practice and the guidance of the Holy Spirit we will find that balance of activity and true rest in Him that we all need.

35 views0 comments
bottom of page