top of page

Pastor's pen for 26th December 2021 - Stay-cation


Long Bay morning light

My observation of the Forrest Hill congregation is that a number of members are well traveled. It's a bit of a generational thing with those in their retirement years having the resources to see the world and then some.


In the first Covid lockdown, I did my best to empathise with those having to cancel multiple travel plans. I did my best but between having had none to cancel myself, and figuring out how to do church remotely, it kind of passed me by.


I have one of those personalities that tends to observe and listen before leaping in. Hence I would never be at the head of the queue at the domestic terminal on the first day lockdown ceased or leaping in my car when the border opened north or south. I'm not motivated by anxiety in this regard, but have a pathological hatred of queuing and tend to ruminate extensively before any decision is made. I have post-graduate qualifications in procrastination.


So it might be a stay-cation this year, for the most part, with a seasoning of weekends away to North Island destinations, including some precious time with family in Napier, not seen since August. It is my observation that Auckland has some excellent beaches and trails, not to mention amazing public facilities like the Art Gallery and War Memorial Museum, where one might enjoy some time having let everyone else rush off to somewhere more exotic.


So whether you are itching to leave the big smoke, or planning to be a homebody this year, or some shade in between, my prayer is that you find refreshment, renewal, and some times of thanksgiving for what God has given, even in the midst of this pandemic season. Please also pray that same thing for me and my family.


Let us live each day with thankfulness in the present, but open to the hopeful possibilities of God in the new year. "See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland." (Isaiah 43:19)

31 views0 comments
bottom of page