top of page

Beginning with silence - Pastor's pen for 3rd Oct 2021

Manukau Harbour, looking south from Waikowhai

It was relatively easy to cultivate solitude in level four lockdown. Ministry was something of a solitary affair. Level three has brought an increasing plague of orange cones to Takapuna, Milford and also Forrest Hill, just outside my window.


However, inner solitude does not necessarily require a tranquil external environment, although this does help in my experience. I guess I've been working on prayer with less blabbing, more listening. Christian prayer is a two-way communication, right?


Dietrich Bonhoeffer, in his influential book, Christ the Centre, begins his work with silence. He writes; 'The silence of the Church is silence before the Word. In so far as the Church proclaims the Word, it falls down silently in truth before the inexpressible.' (p27)


So Christian meditation is not an empty silence or a chaotic babble, its content is Christ. On the fortieth day of lock-down I resolved to fast and pray. Yes, I've got a thing about forty days, let's just say that out front. For someone who enjoys eating so much , fasting is always a challenge, but not so much lately, which is progress I suppose. Having fasted a bit in the last few months, I'm ready now for how it makes me feel. To be honest, I find the best time is right before the end of the fasting period (usually two meals), this is when the prayer feels right. This week was a bit different, as I found the most insightful time was running in the bush the day after, it was like the fasting carved distractions off me.


I'm experimenting with a thing called centering prayer, which is great because it's so simple, and lines up with my 'less words, more listening' vibe at the present. Christ is the centre to whom we turn, and the mission of centering prayer is closeness with God. Plus the method fit's perfectly with a bike ride or run.


What I'm trying to say is that the present is always a good time to find some new way to bring freshness to your spiritual life. I think careful and thoughtful change is best, evaluating things from what we know of scripture and even with discussion with a wise Christian friend.

62 views0 comments
bottom of page