top of page

Thankful - Pastor's Pen for 27th March 2022


Bream Bay from Mt. Lion

I was helping a friend move rental properties, from a run-down dump where the landlord clearly had no concept of property maintenance, to a tiny and eye-wateringly overpriced unit with no storage but a nice kitchen and bathroom. Such is the Auckland rental landscape. It made me thankful to live in a manse provided by the church. Very thankful.


I like to get out in nature as often as possible, for running, biking or even hiking. As previously shared, this activity keeps me mentally well and physically fit, something I re-learned in lockdowns version one and two. The ever changing sky and landscapes, day and night, even here at home on the shore, are a source of wonder. For this I am thankful.


I feel an underlying anxiety at Putin's invasion of Ukraine,something the Russian propaganda machine terms a 'special military operation.' To most of us, it just seems like a War. Let's just call it that. Human beings are ingenious creatures. Sometimes they use their gifts for good, sometimes for great catastrophe.


Where political power is concentrated and unchallenged, there seems a large potential for evil and many lies. Countering this, though lacking physical power, is prayer and beauty, love and faith. This morning I was listening to a prayer for Ukraine put to music by John Rutter. For the creativity of human beings like this I am thankful. For the inspiration of the Holy Spirit I am thankful.


I am thankful also for our life together here at Forrest Hill. We have been a bit in limbo this last while, but as things appear to be opening up, let us be optimistic for the future, and what God will bring. A key verse from this weeks sermon is; 'Let no evil talk come out of your mouths, but only what is useful for building up, as there is need, so that your words may give grace to those who hear.' (Eph 4:29 NRSVA) I remain thankful for the way God enlivens the words of scripture to us by the Spirit. Let us live in those words together.





22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page