top of page

Testimony - Pastor's Pen for 21st August 2022


On Sunday we heard from Eve a testimony of healing prayer for her friend Juliet living with cancer. Let us continue in prayer for her. Also, let me encourage you to bring a word of testimony to the service. Testimony brings a word of God's intervention in our lives, a note of thanksgiving for answered prayer, an insight you have received, and so on. Talk to me about it if you are unsure.


Testimony by its very nature is subjective. The gathered congregation must weigh it and digest it. We are subject to one another, that is how the body of Christ works. Testimony may challenge the world-view of the listener. If I don't believe in God's healing today, a testimony of God's intervention may challenge me. If my testimony is of endurance through suffering with no obvious intervention by the almighty, that will bring a different kind of response. Both can build faith and hope, which is of course the purpose of testimony, to strengthen and encourage.


My testimony about dealing with Covid is this; it lingers, there is no instant healing in my case. It certainly feels like nothing I have had before, mainly because of the fog, fatigue and upper chest tightness. It's a novel coronavirus, as advertised. Generally I have an excellent immune system, very little illness in my life and strong, trail-runner lungs. This has smacked me over. God speaks into the middle of it with a word about patience and humility.


It's good to be reminded we are not invincible. Slowing down allows one to look around, to pray more, to notice more what God is doing, how God is growing me and dealing with me in my situation. I have less words, but more peace. I've been aware of God's presence with me. Perhaps my story challenges you. Sometimes that's what testimony is for. That's ok. I can also listen to your story without judgement.


What is your testimony at this time?

52 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page