top of page
Writer's pictureMinister

Ministry of Interruptions - Pastor's pen for 13th October 2024


We apparently now have a whole new ministry in government; a Ministry for Regulation. They are "a central agency responsible for helping other government agencies to make their rules and regulations easier for New Zealanders to navigate." Yes I know, the irony is strong with this one.


We Presbyterians are also regulated - by the Book of Order. This is for sorting out all manner of church issues without the need for re-inventing the wheel, because there's already a rule for it. A thought - perhaps the Ministry for Regulation can help make it easier for us to navigate? I doubt it.


We have a small streamlined team here at Forrest Hill, but I've thought of a new name for one of our departments; the Ministry of Interruptions. I've learned over the the years that interruptions provide some of the best ministry experiences of my life.


Those conversations and crises can be so instructive, faith-building and rewarding. Today I was on the phone for nearly an hour with someone I've never met. The testimony was heartwarming, some things were sobering, but it was most worthwhile.


God's people can often demonstrate the resilience of the human spirit when led by the Holy Spirit in in a genuine walk of faith. So I have this ministry of interruptions, maybe you do too? Who will God bring across your path this week? It might be a divine appointment.

4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page