top of page

Live life well - Pastor's Pen for 17th July 2022


Looking North-West, Wenderholm Regional Park

The teacher in the book of Ecclesiastes writes:

What do people really get for all their hard work? I have seen the burden God has placed on us all. Yet God has made everything beautiful for its own time. He has planted eternity in the human heart, but even so, people cannot see the whole scope of God’s work from beginning to end. So I concluded there is nothing better than to be happy and enjoy ourselves as long as we can. And people should eat and drink and enjoy the fruits of their labour, for these are gifts from God. (Ecclesiastes 3: 9-13 NLT)


I've always enjoyed the practical wisdom of this teacher. He never sugar coats the toil of human life, and the seemingly random roll of dice that people get in their own life journeys. Just this week I received news that my old Bible class teacher had died and a youth group acquaintance and his wife had both contracted the same kind of lung cancer, likely to leave their kids orphans. Another youth group friend has a stage four brain tumour. This is sobering stuff and I always find I need a little time to process this type of news.


I suppose I share the perspective of the teacher of Ecclesiastes for the most part. Life is not always optimal, but there is much to be appreciated in it, and the grace of God can be perceived and experienced even in the most difficult circumstances. With this particular Bible book of wisdom, we get a clear sense that human life with God is embodied. We live in and with the limitations of human body and mind, and yet "He has planted eternity in the human heart..."


Having just had another birthday (for which I give thanks), I remind myself time is not for wasting and there is much to be enjoyed while this mortal coil permits. In my case this involves a bit of trail running and hauling myself up mountains, enjoying good food and drink with friends etc. Also there are so many good books to read.


The teacher's advice to the young holds true at any age I think; "Young people, it’s wonderful to be young! Enjoy every minute of it. Do everything you want to do; take it all in. But remember that you must give an account to God for everything you do. So refuse to worry, and keep your body healthy..." (Ecclesiastes 11: 9-10 NLT)

44 views0 comments
bottom of page