top of page

Life Stories - Pastor's Pen for 28th July 2024


Some old photos turned up the other day, including this one of my uncle, brother and dad from the late 70s, complete with Ford Falcon in the background.


It got me thinking about my life story and all the people and events that have accompanied and shaped me thus far.


Just lately, I've rediscovered the satisfaction of reading autobiographies; specifically Storyteller by musician Dave Grohl, On the Wings of Mercury by Kiwi athlete Lorraine Moller, and currently The Life of Dai by comedian Dai Hennwood. People telling their stories is somehow fascinating and compelling.


As I read Dai's book I somehow hear his voice telling it in my head. It's funny and moving, covering a lot of ground and talking about the difficulty of his diagnosis with stage four cancer at the beginning of the Covid time, meaning he had to attend numerous appointments and procedures without family support, by himself.


Autobiographies often have a spiritual element, new age stuff in the case of Lorraine Moller, and Eastern religion and a rediscovery of meditation for Dai. My autobiography would have a line of Christian faith running through it, nominal since I was baptised as a Church of England baby, but turning into the beginnings of life-giving faith in the late seventies and early eighties. For this I look back with thankfulness, and forward with hope.


What would your autobiography say about your faith journey? It's worth thinking about. "the Lord will watch over your coming and going both now and for evermore." (Ps 121:8)




24 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page