top of page

From powerlessness to prayer - Pastor's Pen for 25th August 2024



I've been reflecting (not for the first time) that there can be a sense of powerlessness in ministry and church life. People come and go, aspects of ministry fall apart.

Since the Covid time, our children's ministry has been difficult to maintain, and now through a range of coinciding circumstances, our youth work is on shaky ground.


My observation is that the traditional churches are up against it, with a dizzying array of modern church options available to people, and a tempting range of other activities on offer for Sunday morning. If I seem a bit down about it all, that's because I am.


Fortunately, we all have access to the psalms at times like these, which remind us that others have been in anguish before us, and frankly they probably had it worse. For example in Psalm 6 we read; "Be gracious to me, O Lord, for I am languishing; O Lord, heal me, for my bones are shaking with terror." Hope is never lost with God, so I am called to prayer along wit you, as we navigate the path that is set before our congregation.


George MacLeod, (1895-1991) founder of the Iona Community, prayed this; "Holy Spirit, Enlivener: breathe on us, fill us with life anew; In your new creation, already upon us, breaking through, groaning and travailing, but already breaking through, breathe on us." May we know his leading and hope for the path.

23 views0 comments

Kommentarer


bottom of page