top of page

Can these bones live? Pastor's pen for 12th June 2022


Various promptings have led me to meditate on Ezekiel 37: 1-14 which of course is the prophecy in the valley of dry bones. The Lord moves in mysterious ways, and has called me at this time to reflect anew on my own journey. The best ministry comes from the overflow of God's activity within the Christian believer. So if God is gently prompting me to attend to the dry spiritual bones in my own life, I had best attend to that with diligence.


Of course in the life of a minister, one's personal spiritual journey intersects publicly with that of the congregation with alarming frequency. This blog post dear reader, is concrete evidence of that. I'm afraid there is not the space in my soul or my brain for those two disciplines to exist in parallel. That would require a level of multi-tasking far beyond this small male brain. So the personal spirituality intertwines with the communal theology of a congregation. At least in this way, authenticity is more likely.


Perhaps you also feel dry in spirit from time to time? All of us are human, and we have our ups and downs. It's ok, God knows about it and loves us anyway. What I find as I meditate on the first part of Ezekiel 37 is that my reading builds hope and faith in me. Hope that better things are ahead, God's abundant life and then God's heaven. Faith that God's Spirit is alive and able to breathe into the dry bones of my life in such a way that they rattle into life and vitality.


This scripture was given to me for this season, providing evidence of God's love and care for me. What is God saying to you? Seek His presence always. Have faith.

35 views0 comments
bottom of page