top of page
Writer's pictureMinister

Beginning with Church - Pastor's pen for 6th February 2022


Opito Bay, taken about 6 years ago on a retreat between ministry at Hillsborough and Forrest Hill

As we emerge from a hot summer into February (!), I reflect on what 2022 will be like for Forrest Hill Presbyterian Church, as a local expression of God's church in the world. Although I am refreshed by my break, there is much to consider as together we navigate a way out of the Covid season via the Omicron speed bump, and the various imbalances, griefs and unintended consequences we are left holding.


On the plus side, I am much encouraged by the leadership and support I have received from session, and I commend them to you for ongoing prayer and confidence. We are blessed to have such a team. However, without a renewal of prayer and an expectation of the need for ministry innovation and flexibility in these times, I believe we will struggle. The Covid time, having bent a number of our ministries out of shape, has a long tail....


In this light I have chosen to preach a short series from the book of Ephesians, which has so much to say about what it is to be the church. Apostle Paul in the epistle has a highly developed view of what it is to be In Christ. More on that through the weeks....


As with much New Testament material, the experts don't agree on authorship, dates, purpose of the letter, etc. Let me begin with a quote from my favourite commentator, whose position I will share in my preaching. I'm not going to argue the multitude of options with you, which will be a relief I'm sure. Along with my learned friend, I 'conclude that Ephesians was written by the apostle Paul during his imprisonment in Rome, around A.D. 61-62. The connections between this letter and Colossians, notably the personal details concerning Paul's co-worker, Tychicus...suggests that Ephesians was written from the same place as Colossians.' The Letter to the Ephesians, Peter O'Brien, 1999 (p.57)


So I'll stick with that position and not entangle you in an academic discussion about it. Safe to say I've been looking for an opportunity to preach Ephesians at Forrest Hill, and now is the time. It's a circular letter for a number of churches, so presents a general, yet highly developed view of "church" which in my view helps to make it readily accessible to us as 21st century readers. I hope you enjoy reflecting on it with me. Blessings, Martin


52 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page